Home > News > DSU Honors "Over/Under 40" Successful Alumni
DSU 125th Anniversary, Alumni
In this photo: DSU 125th Anniversary, Alumni

DSU Honors “Over/Under 40” Successful Alumni

Tuesday, October 18, 2016

DSU, V. Bozeman, DSU 125th AnniversaryV. Bozeman of "Empire" performed at the 125th Anniversary Celebration.

DSU honored 40 alumni as part of its “Over/Under 40 Club” as part of the 125th Anniversary Celebration event held on Oct. 16 at Dover Downs.

The Over/Under 40 Club recognizes successful graduates who have demonstrated a high level of excellence in their professional careers as well as a commitment to serving their communities. Based upon DSU’s Core Values – Community, Integrity, Diversity, Scholarship and Outreach – this club focuses on building a culture for philanthropy while recognizing the importance of alumni outreach.

The 125th Anniversary Celebration include performances by V. Bozeman, a singer and actress of the hit television drama "Empire," as well as the electrifying group the Panama Band.

The alumni selected for the Over/Under 40 Club include:

  • Dr. Donald and Dolores Blakey, Classes of 1958 and 1962 respectively; educators, community theatre actors and producers.
  • Halvin Blocksom, Class of 1961, educator
  • The Honorable Stephanie T. Bolden, Class of 1969; educator and state legislator.
  • Latisha Bracy, Class of 2004; government and community relations professional, campaign manager.
  • Ned W. Brown, Jr., Class of 1971; educator, past DSUAA New Castle Co. chapter president.
  • LeFeisha D. (Williamson) Cannon, Class of 2003; associate controller in DSU’s Finance & Administration Division, consultant.
  • Ernest “Sammy” Congo, Class of 1967; owner of Congo Funeral Home in Wilmington.
  • Ernest M. “Trippi” Congo II, Class of 1998, funeral director of family owned Congo Funeral Home in Wilmington.
  • Greg Coverdale, Class of 1999; CEO of Real Estate, LLC, financial planner
  • Dr. Corrie L. Davis, Class of 1998; associate professor of educational research, Kennesaw State University.
  • Robert G. Draine, Sr., Class of 1960; educator
  • Dr. Martin A. Drew and Sharon Dixon-Drew, Classes of 1965 and 1966, respectively; educators.
  • Steven Ewing, Class of 1983; president and owner of Wade Ford Inc. in Smyrna, Ga.
  • Schlonn Hawkins, Class of 2010; public relations professional.
  • Carolyn Golden Hebsgaard, Class of 1965, executive director of the Boston Lawyers Group and Lawyers Collaboration for Diversity.
  • Drs. Berlin and Reba Hollingsworth, Class of 1967 and 1949, respectively; educators and parliamentarians.
  • Matthew W. Horace, Class of 1985; internationally recognized law enforcement, homeland security and leadership expert.
  • Dr. Jamar H. Jeffers, Classes of 2002 and 2003; vice president of development for 100 Black Men of America.
  • Chris Joyner, Class of 1976; insurance professional
  • The Honorable Rochelle S. Knapp, Class of 2004; Justice of the Peace judge.
  • Dr. Emmanuel Lalande, Class of 2005; vice president/dean of Student Success at Harris-Stowe State University
  • James F. and Mary Jane Marshall, Classes of 1962 and 1975; real property officer at DAFB, owners and operators of family business.
  • Darnerien McCants, Class of 2001; multimedia artist, former NFL wide receiver.
  • Jermain Miller, attended DSU 1998-1999; New York City real estate professional.
  • Isaiah Nathaniel, Class of 2004; entrepreneur, film director.
  • Norman Oliver, Class of 1985; entrepreneur, business owner.
  • Jerome Pinkett, Class of 1961; educator, guidance counselor
  • Maurice Pritchett, Class of 1965; educator, education consultant
  • John Ridgeway, Class of 1975, John Ridgeway, Toyota Finance Services corporate manager, DSU Board of Trustees member
  • Philip G. Sadler, Jr., Class of 1962; tax accountant, former DSUAA chapter president.
  • Monica Scott, Class of 2002; nursing program director.
  • Taunita Stephenson, Class of 2009; assistant commissioner of championships, Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference.
  • Jimmie and Tina Strong, Classes of 1966 and 1965 respectively; CEO of the Strong Company and educator.
  • Leroy A. Tice, Esq., Class of 2002; attorney
  • Cathleen Trigg-Jones, Class of 1992; broadcast journalist, talk show host, actress.
  • David G. Turner, Class of 1986; founder of Sovereign Partners Consulting LLC and chairman of the DSU Board of Trustees.
  • Robert P. Vanderhost, Class of 1972; entertainment manager, athlete/coach, mentor.
  • Enid Wallace-Simms, Class of 1974; senior public affairs manager, Delmarva Power
  • Leah Williams, Clas of 2015, 2016; first winner of both the DSU Presidential Academic Award and the Presidential Leadership Award, supply chain analyst for the Northrop Grumman Corporation.
  • Herman L. Wood, Class of 1973; director of Business Development and Supply Chain Management, Commercial & Government Services, U.S. Facilities, Inc.