Home > Academics > Academic Affairs

Academic Affairs

Academic Affairs is the administrative division at Delaware State University integral to realizing the University’s mission and vision. Academic Affairs is responsible for all academic programming delivered through the University’s departments and colleges as well as related academic activities in coordination with the Office of the President. The division’s mission is to provide the highest quality teaching, learning and research environments possible utilizing best practices in the latest pedagogical techniques and engagement practices to ensure the success of all students. In addition, the division seeks to integrate research and other modes of scholarship along with outreach activities to engage communities across Delaware, the Mid-Atlantic Region, the nation and around the world.

The Office of Academic Affairs’ major responsibilities include, but are not limited to: 

  • academic planning and budgeting;
  • program evaluation, assessment and accreditation;
  • educational policies and procedures;
  • professional development, promotion and tenure of faculties; and
  • the reaffirmation process to the Middle States Commission on Higher Education

Together with the academic deans, department chairs and directors, Academic Affairs provides leadership in curriculum and program development, advances the teaching and learning environment, and promotes creative and scholarly activities including research and outreach. The Office also administers existing programs, revises and reviews those programs, and provides administrative oversight. 

Academic Affairs is assisted in its endeavors by its division units: Office of Student Success including advising, integrated academic support services, and library services delivered via William C. Jason Library, and the Honors ProgramGraduate, Adult & Extended StudiesInstitutional EffectivenessResearch and Sponsored Programs, University Art Gallery; Title III, Land Grant Programs, and the four discipline-based colleges: the Colleges of Agriculture, Science and TechnologyHumanities, Education and Social Sciences; Business; and Health and Behavioral Sciences.