Home > About > Administration > Office of the President

Office of the President

dr tony allen

Board of Trustees

The business and affairs of the University are governed by the Board of Trustees.

The Board of Trustees has all the powers accorded it by Title 14, Chapter 65 of the Delaware Code. The Board consists of 15 members whose appointment or election is provided for in the Delaware Code, and the governor of the state and the President of the University, both of whom shall be members of the Board, ex officio, with the right to vote.

Presidential Staff & Faculty Forums

The President requests the attendance of all professional and classified staff at monthly forums in order to effectively communicate with the campus.  Faculty are welcome to attend.  Please review eNews for times and locations.

Forum Schedule

  • President Staff Forum - every 2nd Tuesday of the month beginning in September and ending in May
  • President Faculty Forum - every 4th Thursday of the month beginning in September and ending in May

Presidential Tenure Highlights

Since its founding in 1891 as the Delaware College for Colored Students, Delaware State University has benefited from the leadership of 11 presidents, including Dr. Jerome Holland, who navigated the institution through instability in the 1950s with the promise of future prosperity.

President’s Administrative Council

  • Dr. Tony Allen, President
  • Dr. Saundra DeLauder, Provost and Chief Academic Officer
  • Dr. Stacy Downing, Vice President for Student Affairs
  • Dr. Vita Pickrum, Vice President for Institutional Advancement
  • Mr. Antonio Boyle, Vice President for Strategic Enrollment
  • Dr. Irene Chapman-Hawkins, Vice President for Human Resources
  • Ms. Jackie Griffith, Special Assistant/VP of Office of Government Relations and Community