slide image

The 25 graduating nursing students are joined for a group shot by nursing faculty and administrators.

  2014 Nurse Pinning Ceremony Celebrates its Graduates

Delvise Fogwe of Dover receives the Academic Excellence Award from Dr. Agnes Richardson.

Delaware State University’s Department of Nursing held its annual Nurse Pinning Ceremony on May 10 celebrating its class of 2014 graduates.

Charity Njeri receives the Clinical Excellence Award from Eunice Gwanmesia.

Twenty-five nursing graduates received their official nursing pins and took their nursing oath – the Florence Nightingale Pledge – during the afternoon ceremony held in the Education and Humanities Theatre.

Several nursing graduates were recognized with special awards:

  • Delvise Fogwe of Dover, Del., received the Nursing Academic Excellence Award.
  • Charity Njeri of Townsend, Del., received the Nursing Clinical Excellence Award.
  • Juree Hopkins of Leonardtown, Md., received the Nursing Professional Growth Award.

In addition, the graduating students honored Dr. Margaret Rose Agostino, assistant professor of nursing, who is retiring after six years as a DSU faculty member.

The keynote speaker was Stella Chebe, a registered nurse in pediatrics and the president and founder of the Nkangwens Foundation, an organization that helps orphans and needy children in the country of Cameroon.

Juree Hopkins receives the Professional Growth Award from Dr. Margaret Rose Agostino.

The Department of Nursing – which is under the leadership of Dr. Sharon M. Mills-Wisneski , chair – comes under DSU’s College of Education, Health and Public Policy, which is led by Dr. Marshá Horton, interim dean.

Dr. Margaret Rose Agostino is honored by the graduating students, represented by Kylishia Newton (l) and Morgan McKenzie (r)