slide image

John R. Price Building
Phone: 302.857.6750
Fax: 302.857.6781

  Department of Nursing

So you want to become a nurse? Whether you’re a beginning student in nursing or a nurse returning to school, the Nursing Program at Delaware State University has a course of study to meet your needs.

The program is approved by the Delaware Board of Nursing (Cannon Building, Suite 203, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, DE 19904, 302.744.4500) and is accredited by the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing (3343 Peachtree Road NE, Suite 850, Atlanta, GA 30326, 404.975.5000, www.acenursing.org).

This accredited baccalaureate degree nursing program is grounded in the concept of academic excellence. Students seeking professional preparation for nursing practice are admitted to the program. Preparation for professional nursing practice demands a knowledge of the humanities, natural and social sciences and nursing theory with correlated laboratory and clinical practice.

The faculty of the Department of Nursing subscribe to the mission and core values of DSU and EdH&PP. Its mission is to provide meaningful and relevant education that emphasizes the liberal arts, scientific and professional aspects of higher education for a multicultural student population. The nursing program provides educational opportunities for students of diverse backgrounds and prepares knowledgeable, entry-level practitioners for meeting present and future health needs of individuals, families, groups and communities. The nursing program develops an educational base for graduate study and fosters professionalism.

The primary purposes of the program are (1) to prepare competent professional nurses, (2) to meet the needs of a culturally diverse student population, and (3) to develop an educational base for future specialization and/or graduate study.

The nursing curriculum is four academic years and leads to the bachelor of science degree with a major in nursing. Professional level nursing courses include both nursing theory and related laboratory and clinical study. Health agencies including hospitals, nursing homes, clinics, and other community health settings, and schools in the Delaware area provide settings for laboratory study in nursing. Practica are also provided in the simulated laboratory in the Department of Nursing.

Students who meet nursing admission criteria may be admitted to the nursing program. Nursing students are responsible for their own transportation to all clinical experiences. All nursing students are eligible to become members of the Delaware State University Student Nurses' Association. Delaware State University Nursing Honor Society invites students to be members after successful completion of the junior year of the Nursing Program with a 3.0 GPA and in the top 1/3 of the class.

 

Department of Nursing
Price Bldg. Room 123
1200 N. DuPont Highway
Dover, DE 19901-2277


302.857.6750
302.857.6781 Fax
Mon. - Fri. 8:30 to 4:30


Faculty/Staff Profile


Department Chair


Dr. Sharon Mills-Wisneski
Chairperson, Associate Professor
Price 101
302.857.6750
smillswis@desu.edu


Associate Professors



Dr. Jodi Dampeer-Moore
Price 120 A
302.857.6754
jdampeer@desu.edu

Dr. Sally Danz
Price 123C
302.857.6791
sdanz@desu.edu



Dr. Stephanie Evans-Mitchell
Price 117 B
302.857.6760
smitchell@desu.edu



Dr. Agnes Richardson
Price 120 B
302.857.6749
arichardson@desu.edu



Dr. Carol Sando
Price 118
302.857.6798
csando@desu.edu


Dr. Yvonne Stringfield

Price 117 C
302.857.6753
ystringfield@desu.edu


Assistant Professors



Dr. Michelle O’Neal
Price 121 C
302.857.6764
moneal@desu.edu


Clinical Practitioners



Mrs. Eunice Gwanmesia
Price 119 C
302.857.6766
egwanmes@desu.edu



Ms. Vivian Hendricks
Price 119 B
302.857.6795
vhendricks@desu.edu



Mrs. Sara Myers
Price 121 B
302.857.6757
smyers@desu.edu
 

Professional Staff

Mrs. Michele Scialla
Nursing Learning Resource Center Manager
Price 111 E
302.857.6748
mscialla@desu.edu

 

Staff

Ms. Donna Bigsby
Senior Secretary
Price 123 A
302.857.6750
dbigsby@desu.edu



Ms. Mahala Duffy
Senior Secretary
Price 101
302.857.6759
mduffy@desu.edu
 

Student Information

Criteria for the Professional Nursing Phase

Application for Admission to the Professional Phase -- Check back shortly

Please return completed applications to:
Mrs. Michelle Rush
Price Bldg., Room 111


Faculty Announcements

Calendar of Events