- Borrowing Privileges and Procedures 
- Circulation/Reserves Desk 
- Limited check-out services 
- Library Fines and Lost Cards 
- Group Study Rooms 
- Audio-Visual Hardware 
- Resource Sharing (ILL) 
- Photocopying 
- General Policies of the Library 
Borrowing privileges are extended to DSU faculty, staff, and students with a validated DSU identification; Delaware residents, with valid identification; State of Delaware  employees, and City of Dover  employees with valid employment identification; faculty, staff, and students of Delaware Technical and Community College , University of Delaware , Wilmington College , and the Beebe Nursing School, with valid college identification; Delaware high school seniors with parent or guardian present for signature at the time of application. Delaware State University student IDs must be validated and resident students must have a campus post office box in order to borrow library materials.
All circulating materials must be charged out at the Circulation/Reserves Desk with a validated DSU faculty/staff/student ID or community borrower's card. Borrowed materials generally circulate for twenty-one days and may be renewed. It is the borrower's responsibility to know when materials are due. Books may be returned at the Circulation/Reserves Desk or through the book drop located near the library entrance. All other materials must be returned to the Circulation/Reserves Desk. Circulation transactions should be completed twenty minutes prior to closing. Your cooperation will be greatly appreciated. Please do not reshelve materials. Always place them in holding/waiting areas.
With a current DSU identification card, faculty, staff, and students are entitled to borrow materials from the libraries of the University of Delaware, Delaware Technical and Community College, and Wilmington College.
Note: Borrowers are responsible for all library materials charged to their library card
- Register patrons for borrowing privileges
- Check out and check in circulating library materials
- Provide information on overdue items, fines and other library charges
- Accept payment of library fines and charges
- Permanent Reserve
- Faculty Reserve
- Group study room keys
- Audio-visual materials for use in the library
Fines for overdue circulating items are $.10 per day per item up to a maximum of 60 days. After 60 days, the item is presumed lost and the borrower will pay a $6.00 processing fee and the cost of the item as determined by the library administration. Fines for overdue reserve materials are $.25 per item for the first hour and $.05 per item for each additional hour that the library is open. The library will charge patrons for any mutilated, damaged, or broken library materials/equipment at a cost to be determined by the library administration. Overdue notices are sent to borrowers. Grades are withheld and transcripts are not issued until all charges are paid.
Loss or theft of DSU library ID cards must be reported to the DSU Police Department, (302)857-6290. Students must also notify Student Accounts in order to receive a replacement card. For reporting the loss or theft of library community cards, contact the Circulation/Reserves Desk, (302) 857-6191.
The replacement cost of a community library card is $10.00
Note: Borrowers are responsible for knowing when an item is due.
Group study rooms are available for use by a minimum of three patrons per room. Patrons must present their DSU library ID card to personnel on duty at the Circulation/Reserves Desk in order to obtain the key for a group study room. Study/typing rooms are available for up to two patrons.
Audio-visual hardware, e.g. monitors, videocassette players/recorders, audiocassette players/recorders, projectors (slide, overhead, opaque) and screens are available for use by students (in the library only) and faculty/staff (on campus only).To request equipment call (302) 857-6175, Monday-Friday 8:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m., at least two working days before needed. Equipment must be returned immediately after use to ensure availability of equipment for others. Borrowers must present their DSU faculty/staff ID card for checkout of equipment.
Faculty, staff and students may borrow materials from other libraries via Resource Sharing (ILL). The Resource Sharing (ILL) process may take as long as three weeks. Some titles may require a longer wait. In some cases, lending libraries will charge fees that are passed on to patrons. Some materials which may not be available through Resource Sharing (ILL) are:
- Books owned by the library and in use
- Whole volumes or issues of periodicals
- Photocopies of specific articles
- Reference books
- Rare materials, including manuscripts
- Bulky or fragile materials that are difficult to ship
- Non-print media, such as videocassettes, audiocassettes, or software
- Dissertations; however, those from American universities can often be purchased from University Microfilms International, P.O. Box 1764, Ann Arbor, MI 48106 (1-800-521-3042)
The following steps should be used for Resource Sharing (ILL):
- Verify the citation by using Books in Print, indexes, abstracts, or other bibliographic tools
- Submit your request via Electronic Document Delivery (EDD), or obtain a request form from the ERC (Room 128), Reference Desk, or the Serials Office (Room 221)
- Fill out completely and accurately and return to Circulation/Reserves Desk
- When Resource Sharing (ILL) books arrive, you will be notified by telephone or in writing at the address given on the request form
- Articles will be sent via EDD, campus or US mail
- Pick up and return all Resource Sharing (ILL) books to the Circulation/Reserves Desk during library hours of operation. For information on items you have requested, call (302) 857-6193
- Patrons are responsible for paying overdue fines to the lending library through the William C. Jason Library-Learning Center Resource Sharing (ILL)
- Patrons are also responsible for paying the cost of lost books, including any processing fees. These fees will be assessed according to the lending library's policy
For further information regarding this service, call (302) 857-6193/6191.
Students/Patrons: Second floor. Serials area of the library. Charges: $.10 per copy.
No food, drinks, or smoking is permitted in the library. The use of cellular phones and pagers is prohibited. Violators will be asked to leave the building. Patrons are asked to maintain a quiet atmosphere in the library. Please do not reshelve materials, but place them in designated "waiting" or "holding" areas.