slide image


DSU President Harry L. Williams says the public forums are important because the public's input is essential in the development of a fresh new vision for the University

  DSU to Hold Public Forums for University's Vision


Delaware State University’s Blue Ribbon Commission will hold a series of public forums in each of the state’s three counties to help it develop a fresh new vision for the University’s future.

DSU President Harry Lee Williams says that it is important for the citizens of Delaware to embrace and participate in this new DSU initiative that will lay a roadmap for its future success.

“Delaware State University belongs to the state of Delaware, and it is therefore important for the institution to have the input of its citizenry to help it become a premier institution of higher education in the country,” Dr. Williams said. “In doing so, the residents of the state will also share in the greatness that will result from DSU’s earnest work to become one of the best universities for students to fulfill their academic and professional aspirations.”

The public can attend any of the forums, which will be held from 6-8 p.m. on the following dates:

  • Kent County – Monday, March 29 in Parlours A-C of the Martin Luther King Student Center on the DSU campus, 1200 N. DuPont Highway in Dover
  • Sussex County – Tuesday, April 13 at the Warren L. and Charles Allen Jr. CHEER Community Center, 20520 Sand Hill Road, Georgetown.
  • New Castle County – Thursday, April 15 at the NCCo Chamber of Commerce, 12 Penns Way, New Castle.

President Williams established the Blue Ribbon Commission in January and has directed the group to complete is work in crafting a new vision for the University by the end of May 2010. The group is also charged with developing a set of values to help drive excellence.

The co-chairs of the 14-member commission are Dr. Dyremple B. Marsh, dean of the DSU College of Agriculture and Related Sciences, and Wayne Gilchrest, a retired U.S. Congressman from Maryland. They are joined by a diverse group that represents the faculty, staff, students and alumni of DSU, as well as state and federal government, public school system and the business community.

In addition, each member of Delaware’s Congressional Delegation – U.S. Sen. Thomas R. Carper, U.S. Sen. Ted Kaufman and U.S. Rep. Michael N. Castle – is serving as honorary co-chairs of the Commission.

For more information on the Blue Ribbon Commission and the full list of its members, go to