Mathematics, Natural Sciences and Technology

You are here

Dr. SJ Gates-DDLS

Join us.

“Conversing with Dr. S. James Gates, Jr. , Theoretical Physicist”

2013 National Medal of Science award-winner and theoretical physicist

Endowed Chair of Physics, University of Maryland, College Park

President’s Council of Advisors on Science and Technology appointee


Luna I. Mishoe Science Center South 223

November 7th, 2013 @ 6 p.m.


DSU Optics Center


Artist's rendering of the north-side view of the proposed new Applied Optics Building

Delaware State University Applied Optics Building On September 25th, with the Governor and other state officials on hand, DSU's president, Board of Trustees, and administrators hosted the long-anticipated dedication of the OSCAR Building.   In 2012, Governor Jack Markell officiated over a groundbreaking ceremony at Delaware State University, that paved the way for beginning construction of Delaware State University's newest building slated to come to the campus: the OSCAR (Optical Science Center for Applied Research) Building. Read article here. Construction began in Winter 2013 for the first of two (2) connected buildings. Now this state-of-the-art facility serves as the new site of OSCAR - housing laboratories, offices, meeting space, and space dedicated to serve as hubs of innovation for collaboration with industry. Read more about the Optics Building opening here. Multiple views of external building design: Learn how to give to the building fund. (Designate the "Optics bldg fund" in your memo line.) Learn more about OSCAR and current research projects in Optics.   Back to the College Home Page       © Copyright 2015 Delaware State University CMNST  

Dr. Adrian Mims - DDLS

"The African American and Latino Scholars' Calculus Project: Creating a Culture of High Academic Achievement in Mathematics"

Tuesday, November 19, 2013 at 6 p.m.

Luna I. Mishoe Science North 139

Dr. Teri Quinn Gray - DDLS

"Imperative and Possibility—STEM Education for the 21st Century"

Thursday, November 14, 2013 at 6 p.m.

Luna I. Mishoe Science South 223


The 3rd annual Kent County Science Fair will take place on the campus of Delaware State University.


"Medical Image Analysis Principles and Applications to the Clinical Domain"

Tuesday, Oct. 29, 2013 @ 11 a.m.

ETV 131

Dr. Sokratis Makrogiannis, Assistant Professor, Dept of Mathematical Sciences,

Delaware State University


"Conversation with Dr. S. James Gates, Jr., Theoretical Physicist"

Thursday, November 7, 2013 at 6 p.m.

Luna I. Mishoe Science Center South 223


Kent County Science Fair 2014

3rd Annual Kent County Science Fair on the campus of    Co-sponsored by State of Delaware, Delaware State University, Delaware  (Click photo to view more)          For more information, or to inform us that you would like to participate, please contact Jacquelyn Jones at or 302-857-6650.   Sponsored by: Senator Chris Coons’ Office, Delaware State University (DSU), Delaware Technical & Community College (Terry Campus), Delaware Biotechnology Institute (DBI) and the Optical Science Center for Applied Research (OSCAR)  at DSU     

Delaware is serious about S.T.E.M.

View the articles below to find out more great information about  Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (S.T.E.M.) in Delaware:

Is average good enough?

Delaware BioGENEius



Links to coverage for

2013 Kent County Science Fair:


Press Release





Download guidelines

Download application and required forms

AGENDA (*coming soon*)

Get Directions to DSU

(guests arriving for the science fair will be able to park in parking lot #1)





Optical Sciences Center for Applied Research (OSCAR)

View prior years' events:


DSU Imaging Center Scheduler

Sign up here to request services or to schedule to use equipment in the Imaging Center Check the Imaging Center calendar for available dates for the equipment you would like to use or to schedule a consultation for imaging services. Review the fee schedule. Complete and submit the scheduling request form below: download form here, complete and email to or fax to (302) 857-7482. You will receive email notification confirming appointments pending approval.     Download a copy of the Imaging Center Work Order Request Form.  Fax completed form to 302-857-7482  For more information, contact Dr. Wafa Amir, Director of Imaging, at 302-857-6655 or by email:   Back to Imaging Home Page Back to College Home Page

CMNST Optical Science Research Imaging Center


Normal Imaging Center hours:

Monday  through Friday

9 a.m. - 5 p.m.




Fax:  302-857-7482
Alt. Phone:  302-857-6659


The College of Mathematics, Natural Sciences & Technology is home to the Optical Science Research Imaging Center. This facility, located in Rm 237 of the Luna I. Mishoe Science Center, was initially founded with funding from the National Science Foundation in 2005 and has developed multiple capabilities to accommodate qualitative and quantitative spectroscopy and Imaging research. The goals of the Optical Science Research Imaging Center are to create an integrated research and education environment for researchers and students; to support and motivate cross-disciplinary research among scientists from different DSU and non-DSU STEM departments; and to provide access to companies and external users to state-of-the-art instruments and expertise for imaging and analysis of complex samples. A modest-sized operation, The Optical Science Research Imaging Center offers a quick turn-around time and a reasonably discounted rate. For specific imaging requirements or questions about our capabilities, contact us. Back to the College Home Page

Imaging Homepage

Imaging equipment

Policies & fees

Contact us



State-of-the-art imaging and spectroscopic equipment on a fee-based service;

Providing training to student researchers on use and application of quantitative imaging and laser spectroscopy techniques and analysis;

Development of novel optical technologies in collaboration with OSCAR research groups.