Mathematics, Natural Sciences and Technology

You are here

Dr. Sokratis Makrogiannis

Sokratis Makrogiannis

Assistant Professor
Department of Mathematical Sciences
Delaware State University
Phone: +1-302-857-7058
Professional page:


2013-2014 CREOSA Seminar Series

"Single Molecule Imaging in Vivo Determines Transcriptional RNA Processing Dynamics" 


Mr. Matthew Ferguson

Systems Biology of Gene Expression, Laboratory of Receptor Biology and Gene Expression, National Cancer Institute, NIH, Bethesda, MD


Dr. SJ Gates-DDLS

Join us.

“Conversing with Dr. S. James Gates, Jr. , Theoretical Physicist”

2013 National Medal of Science award-winner and theoretical physicist

Endowed Chair of Physics, University of Maryland, College Park

President’s Council of Advisors on Science and Technology appointee


Luna I. Mishoe Science Center South 223

November 7th, 2013 @ 6 p.m.


DSU Optics Center


Artist's rendering of the north-side view of the proposed new Applied Optics Building

Delaware State University Applied Optics Building In 2012, Governor Jack Markell officiated over a groundbreaking ceremony at Delaware State University, that paved the way for beginning construction of Delaware State University's newest building slated to come to the campus: the OSCAR (Optical Science Center for Applied Research) Building. Read article here. Construction began in Winter 2013 for the first of two (2) connected buildings, this state-of-the-art facility will serve as the new site of OSCAR - housing laboratories, offices, meeting space, and space dedicated to serve as hubs of innovation for collaboration with industry. Expected opening of the building is Summer 2015. Multiple views of external building design: Learn how to give to the building fund. (Designate the "Optics bldg fund" in your memo line.) Learn more about OSCAR and current research projects in Optics.   Back to the College Home Page       © Copyright 2013 Delaware State University CMNST  

Dr. Adrian Mims - DDLS

"The African American and Latino Scholars' Calculus Project: Creating a Culture of High Academic Achievement in Mathematics"

Tuesday, November 19, 2013 at 6 p.m.

Luna I. Mishoe Science North 139

Dr. Teri Quinn Gray - DDLS

"Imperative and Possibility—STEM Education for the 21st Century"

Thursday, November 14, 2013 at 6 p.m.

Luna I. Mishoe Science South 223


The 3rd annual Kent County Science Fair will take place on the campus of Delaware State University.


"Medical Image Analysis Principles and Applications to the Clinical Domain"

Tuesday, Oct. 29, 2013 @ 11 a.m.

ETV 131

Dr. Sokratis Makrogiannis, Assistant Professor, Dept of Mathematical Sciences,

Delaware State University


"Conversation with Dr. S. James Gates, Jr., Theoretical Physicist"

Thursday, November 7, 2013 at 6 p.m.

Luna I. Mishoe Science Center South 223


Kent County Science Fair 2014

3rd Annual Kent County Science Fair on the campus of    Co-sponsored by State of Delaware, Delaware State University, Delaware  (Click photo to view more)          For more information, or to inform us that you would like to participate, please contact Jacquelyn Jones at or 302-857-6650.   Sponsored by: Senator Chris Coons’ Office, Delaware State University (DSU), Delaware Technical & Community College (Terry Campus), Delaware Biotechnology Institute (DBI) and the Optical Science Center for Applied Research (OSCAR)  at DSU     

Delaware is serious about S.T.E.M.

View the articles below to find out more great information about  Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (S.T.E.M.) in Delaware:

Is average good enough?

Delaware BioGENEius



Links to coverage for

2013 Kent County Science Fair:


Press Release





Download guidelines

Download application and required forms

AGENDA (*coming soon*)

Get Directions to DSU

(guests arriving for the science fair will be able to park in parking lot #1)





Optical Sciences Center for Applied Research (OSCAR)

View prior years' events: