slide image

ETV Building Room 125
Phone: 302.857.6584
Fax: 302.857.6589

  Department of Mass Communications

You are here

Mass Comm Day 2016

The Department of Mass Communications produces graduates who specialize in convergence journalism; public relations and advertising; or television-radio-film production. The curriculum combines three essential elements of learning:

  • A theoretical approach to enable students to understand concepts of mass communications.
  • A performance-based approach to develop skills and techniques to enable students to be proficient with communication technologies.
  • An internship program to place students in off-campus learning environments working with professionals.

General Education Requirements: General Education Requirements are critical to the development of the student as an effective communicator, a critical thinker, and a problem-solver in the world's pluralistic and global societies. Students must complete 39 semester hours of general education courses.

Core Requirements: The Core Area engages students broadly in mass communications theory and techniques. Students also develop an understanding of the influences that mass communications exert upon the individual and society by way of such elements as the social structure, the technology, the economy, the politics, and the media culture. Students must complete six core courses, followed by seven courses in their concentration.

The concentration areas are as follows:

  • Convergence Journalism
  • Public Relations & Advertising
  • Television-Radio-Film Production

Elective Requirements: Electives offer students opportunities to acquire depth and skills in selected area.  Students are offered the opportunity to take 40 hours of free electives.  They may use these electives if they choose to take a minor course curriculum in another department. 

Student Activities




Equipment Reservation

 Use our Equipment Reservation System

Mass Comm Blog

Staff Technical Assistance

Report problems with your equipment

Faculty Profile

Professor & Chair:

Dr. Francine Edwards


Dr. Asgede Hagos

Dr. Myna German

Associate Professor:

Professor Olaniyi Areke 

Assistant Professor:

Dr. Marcia Taylor


Ava Perrine

Divyesh Raythatha

Technology Director:

Vince Ciammaichelli


Christy Cale

Administrative Secretary