slide image

National System, Local Connection

  • Extension is in all 50 states, the District of Columbia and each of the U.S. Territories, as a function of land-grant universities.  
  • Extension has a presence in nearly all of the nation's 3,150 counties. 
  • Extension is available anytime anywhere at

  Cooperative Extension

You are here


Since the days of George Washington Carver, Seaman A. Knapp and Booker T. Washington, the national Extension system has been delivering research-based education to rural communities throughout America. The Cooperative Extension Program at Delaware State University continues that legacy throughout Delaware by targeting diverse audiences with special emphasis on those with limited resources to help them improve their quality of life.

DSU is among the 18 institutions in the U.S. providing research-based, outreach education through the 1890 land-grant system. In Delaware, the program is administered by Dr. Albert Essel.

As part of Delaware Cooperative Extension, state specialists and agents at DSU and the University of Delaware make research-based education available to all Delawareans.

Extension Mission Areas

DSU Cooperative Extension is comprised of three mission areas that reflect statewide and national outreach education goals:

Agriculture & Natural Resources

Center for Small Flock Research and Innovation

Family & Consumer Science 

4-H & Youth Development


What is Cooperative Extension? 

Cooperative Extension is an essential part of the land-grant mission. Learn how and why land-grant universities came to be.




U.S. Sen. Justin Morrill, author of the 1862 and 1890 Morrill Acts that established land grant institutions.




Calendar of Events


Establishing and Maintaining a Healthy Lawn
September 24, 2014 1pm- 2:00pm
Paradee Center
69 Transportation Center, Dover, DE 19901


Like us on Facebook!

Click the links below to "Like" the following program area pages:

DSU Aquaculture



DE Master Gardeners, Kent County

DSU Small Farms Program




Below are links to agencies that help shape and implement the national Extension mission.

 Association of Public and Land-Grant Universities

1890 Cooperative Extension System

Delaware Department of Agriculture


National Institute of Food and Agriculture

Journal of Extension

Cooperative Extension Education in Agriculture, 4-H and Home Economics, Delaware State University, University of Delaware and United States Department of Agriculture cooperating, Dr. Dyremple B. Marsh, Dean and Administrator. It is the policy of Delaware Cooperative Extension that no person shall be subjected to discrimination on the grounds of race, color, sex, disability, age, or national origin.


Cooperative Extension

(302) 857-6424

Staff Profile

Associate Dean
for Extension
4-H & Youth Development Agent

Donna P. Brown
Family Life Agent

Senior Secretary
SNAP Ed Nutrition Educator
SARE Educator
John Clendaniel
Program Leader
SNAP Ed Nutrition Educator
Extension Educator/ Urban Horticulture
Program Leader
Tom Harmon
Program Assistant
Natasha Lamadieu
Nutrition Educator

Dr. Brigid McCrea
Poultry Specialist

Dr. Dennis McIntosh
Aquaculture Specialist

Dr. Rose Ogutu
Horticulture Specialist

Dr. Lekha N. Paudel
Farm Management Specialist / Risk Management
Nutrition Educator

Megan Pleasanton
Small Farms Educator
Youth Program Educator
Program Leader
Small Farms Educator
Andy Wetherill
Small Farms Educator