News and Media — Latest Headlines

You are here

Leah Williams (l) chats with Vice President Joe Biden off-stage before she introduced him at the HBCU Week Conference in Washington, D.C.

The funding supports DSU's Access to Success initiative that seeks to increase the applications, enrollments and retention in higher ed of at-risk and underrepresented students who are from low-income families. DSU was one of 17 recipients of the First in the World grants; and those grant awardees were selected out of more than 300 applicant institutions.

This team -- (seated l-r) Dr. Sharon Smith, director of the Quantitative Reasoning Center and Integrated Academic Support Services; Dr. Rebecca Fox-Lykens, director of the Center for Teaching and Learning: (standing) Anna Cortese, tutorial supplemental instruction coordinator; Dr. Nicola Edwards-Omolewa, interim chair, Dept. of Mathematics; and Dr. Delayne Johnson, asst. professor of Mathematics -- will implement the Cyber Infused Mathematics Initiative.

The 2015 Employee Recognition Awardees: (l-r) LaShawne Pryor, Charity Shockley, Pamela Adams, Evita Oldenburg, Dr. David Pokrajac, Dr. Mukti Rana, Kendrick Joyner, Wanda Curry-Brown, Marquita Thomas Brown, Randolph Johnson, Kendra Greene, Eric Hart and Erin Hill.

(L-r) Dr. Wilma Mishoe, Chaplain Pam Adams, Bebe Coker, Rev. Rita Paige, Rev. Silvester Beaman, DSU President Harry L. Williams, Michael Miller, U.S. Sen. Chris Coons, Dr. Germaine Cheatham and Vita Pickrum stand with a display check that shows the $29,000-plus success of the 2015 Scholarship Sunday campaign among Delaware churches to raise fund to help DSU students.

(L-r) DRBA Commissioner Rick Downes;  Lori Pagnanelli, Manager, Harrisburg Airports District Office, FAA Eastern Region; DRBA Chairman Bill Lowe; U.S. Sens. Tom Carper and Chris Coons; DSU President Harry L. Williams; Donna Covington, dean of the DSU College of Business; Hans Reigle, DSU Aviation Program chair, and David Harding, UPS pilot and DSU Aviation Program alumnus (1995), all pose next to a rendering of the Del. Airpark improvements.


Post signing photo pose. (L-r) Seated: DSU President Harry L. Williams; Dr. Mary-Ann Nichols, CASE president; standing: Dr. Dyremple Marsh, dean of the College of Ag. and Related Sci. (CARS); Dr. Kornel Brown, DSU/CASE Partnership Coordinator; Federica Williams, CASE student; Dr. Marikis Alvarez, CARS assoc. dean; Julian Jones, CASE student; Dr. Dian Williams (CASE VP of academics; Ambassador Derrick Heaven, CASE board chairman.

Leah Williams was selected for the honor by the White House Initiative on HBCUs in recognition of her scholarship, leadership and civic engagement.

Don Jose, who owns the Finca Canaveral Farm in Costa Rica, teaches DSU students and those from other institutions about his process of growing and producing coffee beans.

Mass Communication students join the department's new chair Dr. Francine Edwards (2nd from left) in showing other the opportunities available through radio, television, newspaper and public relations activities on campus. The Mass Comm table was one of 24 organizations that participated in the Student Organizations Fair.


Media Requests

For media requests pertaining to a need for expert input or information about DSU, please contact The Office of Public Relations located on the second floor of the Administration and Student Services Building. 

Carlos Holmes

Tracy Channel

For information pertaining to sports or an interview with any athlete or coach, please contact the Sports Media Relations Director: 

Dennis Jones