News and Media — Latest Headlines

You are here

(L-r) Sgt. Joi Simmons, Sgt. Dominick Campalone, Lt. Russell Smith, Lt. Pleadge Sanders and DSU Student Affairs Vice President Stacy Downing stand with the DSU Police Department Officers of the Year co-winners Ptlm. Jennifer Bastianelli and Ptlm. J. Michael Skinner. Standing to the left the awardees is DSU Police Chief Harry Downes Jr.

Spencer Boynton (right) receives cockpit pointers from Capt. Stephen Speed, director of the DSU Aviation Program, who was one of the instructors of the OBAP Solo Flight Academy at the Delaware Airpark.

The 2015 DSU Faculty Excellence Award recipients: (l-r) Dr. Hacene Boukari, associate professor of physics (research); Dr. Melissa Harrington, professor of biological sciences (service); and Dr. Frank Gazda, associate professor of music (teaching).

(Center in red robes l-r) During a June 16 Commencement ceremony in China, Ningbo University of Technology President Dr. Lyu Zhongda and DSU President Harry L. Williams accept artistic gifts from the first-ever graduating class of the joint Accounting Program established in China by the two institutions.

New Castle County President Chris Bullock recently visited the DSU@Wilmington location, which is slated for some state-of-the-art technology upgrades this summer.

The 2015 retirees: (l-r, bottom) Jackye Fountain, Sharon Whitaker, Anita Brinkley, Frances Rogers, Leida Sanchez; (top) DSU President Harry L. Williams, Genevieve Tighe, Henry Jones, Leonard Maull, Yvonne Mullen, Dr. Carol Giesecke, Dr. Leonard Davis and Beulah Yarborough.

Dr. Michael A. Casson Jr., associate professor of economics, has written Enwan the Entrepreneur -- Enwan's First $avings Account, a book designed to teach elementary school-aged children about the value of saving money.

Pictured are (l-r) the research grant’s co-investigators Cheng-Yu Lai, associate professor of Chemistry, and Dr. Daniela R. Radu, assistant professor of Chemistry, and Dr. Cherese Winstead, chair of the DSU Department of Chemistry and the principal investigator of the grant.

Dr. Claibourne D. Smith, the former and longtime DSU Board of Trustees chairman, stands next to a plaque bearing his likeness at the north entrance of the Administration Building that is now named after him.

COB Dean Donna Covington, left, accepts the first-place Battle of the Colleges trophy from DSU President Harry L. Williams.


Media Requests

For media requests pertaining to a need for expert input or information about DSU, please contact The Office of Public Relations located on the second floor of the Administration and Student Services Building. 

Carlos Holmes

Tracy Channel

For information pertaining to sports or an interview with any athlete or coach, please contact the Sports Media Relations Director: 

Dennis Jones