Middle States Accreditation

You are here

What is accreditation?

Accreditation is part of the self-regulation process within the independent sector of higher education in the United States. It involves a comprehensive self-study assessment by outside higher education professionals. There is a 10-year interval of self-examination, external review, and commission approval with a 5 year Periodic Review Report. Institutions are to meet 14 specified regional standards of quality.

The purpose of accreditation is to assure the quality and effectiveness of university educational programs and services. Delaware State University is accredited by the Commission on Higher Education (CHE) of the Middle States Association of Colleges and Schools. Established in 1919 the Middle States CHE is one of the “regional accrediting agencies” recognized by the federal government to accredit educational institutions within the mid-Atlantic region.

In the Middle States region there are  14 standards of higher education achievement.

This self-study assesses the university‘s effectiveness in relationship to that tripartite Mission and its Strategic Goals. In addition, the self-study process allowed campus leaders to identify strengths and areas for improvement in relation to the Commission‘s fourteen Standards. The comprehensive design model for the self-study provides an excellent opportunity to involve faculty, staff, students, and community members in the process of developing a more sophisticated understanding of the university mission and vision as they apply to administration, faculty, student body as well as the national and international communities.


Table of Contents

  Executive Summary

  I. Introduction

   II. Self-Study Topics

            Standard 1: Mission and Goals

            Standard 2: Planning, Resource Allocation, and Institutional Renewal

            Standard 3: Institutional Resources

            Standard 4: Leadership and Governance

            Standard 5: Administration

            Standard 6: Integrity  

            Standard 7: Institutional Assessment  

            Standard 8: Student Admissions and Retention

            Standard 9: Student Support Services  

            Standard 10: Faculty

            Standard 11: Educational Offerings

            Standard 12: General Education

            Standard 13: Related Educational Activities

            Standard 14: Assessment of Student Learning

   III. Conclusion and Summary of Recommendations